What Freedom Means to Me (briefly):

  • Waking up at the time of my choosing (which would still be early, but not ungodly early like before 6am)
  • Sipping morning coffee slowly with no rush to get to work – and no coworkers asking you technical questions before you’ve had a chance to drink your coffee
  • Setting my own schedule for the day/prioritizing my time how I see fit
  • Freedom to get up at any point during the day and take a walk (not being stuck on a telecon, in a cube, or in a meeting)
  • To be financially free (not needing to depend on others and having enough savings to live off of for emergencies)
  • Being able to take my laptop with me anywhere in the world and travel
  • Freedom to choose who I let in my life and who I work with on a daily basis (goodbye, sucky bosses and bad coworkers!)
  • Freedom to work from home, or a coffee shop, in my yoga pants, listening to music
  • Freedom to check my personal email/twitter/facebook/etc at my choosing (my current place of work blocks access)
  • Freedom to say what I really think, instead of having to be ‘professional’
  • Freedom to wear funky clothes whenever, so I can express myself and have fun. I can’t wait to ditch the business casual!
  • Freedom to get the french bulldog puppy I’ve always wanted! Because I would be able to work from home and be around enough to take her of her…
  • To have Sunday evening be like any other night – no sinking feeling, no dread about getting up and going to work the next day, just a sweet peaceful Sunday night with excitement to tackle the next day’s work at my own pace

These are just a few items at the top of my head that embody freedom. This list changes and grows as I get further along my journey. Even writing this up and fantasizing about the life I want to be living was refreshing. I can’t wait to get there!

PS I saw Breaking Dawn: Part 1 yesterday and I can’t get this song out of my head from the movie. All I can think of is Bella and Edward dancing on the gazebo from the original movie, Twilight. It’s beautiful.

Flightless Bird, American Mouth by Iron & Wine

so magical!

(source)

Go Team Edward!

(source)

Leave a comment

Leave a Reply

