Sometimes…I have so much to do I can’t do anything at all

Ugh. I woke up this morning with my mind running 100 miles/minute. I went into overdrive thinking of everything I planned to get done this weekend, and what little was actually done. I wanted to clean, be on my computer, have morning coffee, and go out shopping. Immediately and all at once.

So I made a list.

I wrote down everything that was on my mind, from the littlest task (emailing a friend back) to the largest (finishing a homemade Xmas gift). I realized about 60% of my list involved writing and/or time on the computer – including finishing the Xmas gift. I wasn’t feeling it. My attention span was zero and I just couldn’t do it. I had to get out of the house.

I am moving at the end of this month and one of the items on my list was to go pick up boxes from Home Depot. I also wanted to get some fresh produce for the week and pick up a treat or two at Trader Joe’s. I hopped in my car and left my list behind. Sometimes you just have to go with the flow of the day.

My friend came to visit me in San Francisco this weekend. On Friday we went out to the city, got our nails done, had girl talk, ate a beautiful lunch at The Slanted Door, got tipsy after even the smallest cocktail there, and caught up on our lives. It was completely refreshing. The restaurant also had an AMAZING view of the Bay Bridge right outside.

Slanted Door spring rolls + daikon rice cakes + view of the bay bridge

Later we did some holiday shopping in the beautifully-decorated Union Square and then met up with the rest of her friends for drinks.

christmas tree in union square

Macy's many wreaths

even a holiday band! the trombones rocked!

Look what my friend Bonnie found in Williams Sonoma! So cute!

Yesterday we took a day trip to Napa (in limo-bus style!) and then went to a dive bar. It was a LONG day, but friends are important, and I felt like it was ok to let loose and celebrate for the weekend. The wineries were fun, but the party definitely happened while on the bus! We played songs that were popular when we were in high school (99 problems, the sweater song, bohemian rhapsody) and had a dance party. Imagine 14 people singing that last one after 3 wineries in! I have to say, it felt fun to be wild and crazy and have a throwback-to-college day.

first stop: Beringer

old bottles + an early keg concept

As we were touring we came across this old-fashioned keg, which our tour guide pointed out was not the right kind of barrel used for storage (meaning whoever made this consumed a lot of wine…and FAST!). As he put it, “Man, if this thing could talk…oh the stories it would tell, oh the things it has seen.” I liked that thought…picturing lavish parties in the 1800s! How fun.

That's me with my happy face on! at Sterling Vineyards

we got to keep the glass. woot woot!

Back to the point. After a weekend filled with drinks, parties, and general debauchery, I decided I needed to nourish myself this Sunday. I turned off the alarm and slept in until 11AM (super late for me!). When I woke up I was craving CHEESE. Of all things. I must have been inspired by all the wine tasting. I drove my butt to Trader Joe’s and found this little gem:

wine soaked cheese. does life get any sweeter?

Cheese that has been soaked in Syrah! Apparently I didn’t get enough wine yesterday. 😉 In the cart she went. Along with this holiday popcorn I’ve been craving:

four flavors of heaven

cheese please

Nourishment comes in all different forms. Sometimes I take a walk, sometimes I left myself sleep, sometimes I do yoga, sometimes I just take a warm bath. Today, my body really wanted comfort food, so I happily conceded. I think it’s important to listen to your mind/body and treat yourself when you need it.

Here’s to a day filled with treats, rest, and a few episodes of White Collar. 🙂

Leave a comment

2 Comments

  1. Wine Soaked Cheese? FTW!

    Reply
  2. (it’s already gone!)

    Reply

Leave a Reply

